INTERNATIONAL LIBRARY CO-OPERATION

The Committee elected at the open meeting in Edinburgh on September 26th 1927, has examined the report of the American Library Association made subsequently to the resolution adopted at Washington on October 22nd 1926.

The following countries have, on the inquiry of the A. L. A. announced their readiness to join the project of forming an *International Library and Bibliographical Committee*, viz: Austria, Czecho-Slovakia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Poland and Switzerland. At this conference in Edinburgh the following countries have, through authorized delegates, verbally announced their approval of such a project: Canada, Denmark, Holland, Sweden, and the United States.

Your Committee submits the following proposal for the establishment of an International Library & Bibliographical Committee.

Dr. Isak Collijn, Chairman.

Dr. Vincenzo Fago

Dr. Henry Guppy

Dr. Hugo Krüss

M. Henri Lemaître

Mr. Carl H. Milam

Dr. Zdenek Vaclav Tobolka.

INTERNATIONAL LIBRARY AND BIBLIOGRAPHICAL COMMITTEE

We, the undersigned representatives of National Library Associations, in conference at Edinburgh, 30th Sept. 1927 adopt the following resolution with the understanding that neither this action nor any action which may hereafter be taken by the Committee shall be binding on any national library association until ratified by the association.

- 1. Resolved that we hereby establish the International Library and Bibliographical Committee.
- 2. The Committee shall consist of members selected by the national library associations which ratify this action. There shall be from each country only one designated member with the right to vote, but with him may be associated adjoint delegates.
- 3. The duties of the Committee shall be to select the time and place for international library conferences and, with the co-operation of local committees, to prepare programs for such conferences; and to make investigations and recommendations concerning international relations between libraries, organizations of librarians and bibliographers, and other agencies.
- 4. International library conferences shall be held at least once in five years. The first conference to be convened by this Committee shall be held in 1929 or 1930. Plenary

sessions of the Committee must be hold in connection with each international library conference. Other sessions may be held at the call of the Chairman and must be held when requested by one third of the Committee. The first plenary session of the Committee shall be held within one year from this date.

- 5. The Committee shall have power to appoint sub-committees from its own membership or from the membership of any of the co-operating national library associations.
- 6. The Officers of the International Library and Bibliographical Committee shall be a Chairman, two Vice Chairmen, and a Secretary. These, with four other members, shall constitute the Executive Committee. The Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary and other members of the Executive Committee shall be elected by the Committee for a term ending December 31 following the next ensuing conference. The Secretary may be, but need not be a member of the Committee designated by some national association. He shall have the right to vote. Vacancies on the Executive Committee shall be filled by the Committee.

The Executive Committee for the period ending December 31 after the first International Library Conference to be held shall be

The delegates of Czecho-Slovakia, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Sweden and the United States; the first Chairman shall be the delegate of Sweden, the first and second Vice-Chairmen and the Secretary for the first term shall be chosen by the Executive Committee as constituted in this paragraph.

7. We do not think it necessary for the present to ask for any contributions from the national organizations. If contributions should later be needed, it is suggested that they shall be in a certain proportion to the number of members of each national association, as determined by the Committee.

(Note. The word »Committee» in the above sections refers to the whole committee except when modified by the word »Executive».)

Signed b		У		
	Austria	Dr. Uhlendahl	Italy	Vincenzo Fago
	Belgium	Frans Van Kalken	Norway	Wilhelm Munthe
	Canada	George H. Locke	Sweden	Isak Collijn
	Chine	Mary E. Wood	Switzerland	Hermann Escher
	Czecho-Slovakia	Zdenek Vaclav Tobolka	United States	C. B. Roden
	Denmark	Oskar Thyregod		Charles F. D. Belden
	France	Henri Lemaître		George B. Utley
	Germany	Dr. Uhlendahl		Frank P. Hill
	Great Britain	L. Stanley Jast		H. H. B. Meyer
	Holland	B. de Clercq		Carl H. Milam
		A. Hulshof		